Monday, July 4, 2022

How To Stop Facebook From Knowing So Much About You And Your Data?

- Advertisement -

Facebook was recently under for having access to a lot of user data than it really needs for basic functioning. There are a few ways to stop allowing Facebook from knowing about your daily activities or data. You can turn off most of the permissions for Facebook that are not required for it to operate properly. For this, you just need to visit the settings section on your phone > Apps & notifications > Facebook > Permissions.

Facebook is notorious for tracking your online behavior. Both on and off the platform. In order to personalize your experience and send you targeted ads. Fortunately, the social network also offers you tools to review and modify your privacy settings. Those tools are Off-Facebook activity and Privacy feature.

If you haven’t been using the Off-Facebook Activity privacy feature, now’s the time to start. The tool lets you see and control data that apps and websites share with the platform, and monitor the kind of information third-party apps can access.

- Advertisment -

With the privacy feature, you can clear the history of apps and websites that have shared your data. You can also toggle off Future Off-Facebook Activity, which tells Facebook to disconnect any information the company has shared from your account. Or you can selectively choose which companies you want to stop sharing your activity with, and it’ll stop showing those targeted ads.


Content

  1. What is Off-Facebook activity?
  2. How to use the Off-Facebook activity feature?
  3. How to Manage past and future activity?
  4. Privacy checkup

1. What is Off-Facebook activity?

Facebook not only has access to your activity when you use the social network but also when you visit certain third-party websites. To help you manage that information, the Off-Facebook Activity tool lets you review and delete the data collected about you when you’re using other websites. You can also stop the off-Facebook activity from being saved with your account entirely and download the data to analyze it offline.

Off-Facebook activity includes any information that websites, apps, and organizations share with Facebook. This may be something as simple as visiting a specific website or app. Facebook uses this information to serve you targeted ads.

- Advertisment -

By capturing your activity and choices on supported websites, Facebook shows you coupons and promotions you may find useful. For example, you might buy a pair of shoes from an online clothing store. That store shares your activity and purchases with Facebook, which saves them to your account. Facebook then serves you an ad with a 10% off coupon on your next purchase from that store.

Also Read: How To Delete Your Google Location Data On Android And Chrome!

- Advertisment -


2. How to use the Off-Facebook activity feature?

If you’re uncomfortable with this type of tracking, you can use the Off-Facebook Activity tool to manage this information.

  • Access this feature by clicking the down arrow in the top right and selecting Settings.
  • Select Your Facebook Information.
  • Click the option for Off-Facebook Activity.
  • Facebook displays the names of sites that have shared your activity and informs you how it gains access to this kind of information. Get more details about your overall off-Facebook activity by clicking the “Learn More” link at the top.
  • To view your off-Facebook activity, click the icon for any site in the list and then enter your password. You will then see all the sites that have provided information on your activity on Facebook. Click a site to view specific details about it.
  • “How Did Facebook Get This Activity?”  At first, the menu will tell you how the site sent the data to Facebook, such as by using Facebook’s business tools. The second drop-down menu lists examples of interactions with other sites, such as opening an app, visiting a website, searching for an item, or purchasing an item.
  • If you wish to flag a site as inappropriate content or misuse of your information, scroll to the bottom of the Activity Details screen and click the Give feedback about this activity link. Select a reason for the feedback and click Send.
  • If you no longer want this site to share your activity with Facebook, click the Turn off future activity link.

Also Read: A Detailed Guide To Facebook Metaverse


3. How to manage Past and Future Activity?

  • You can manage both past and future activity from the Off-Facebook Activity screen by clicking Manage Future Activity. Read the information on how off-Facebook activity is used, then click Manage Future Activity to take control.
  • On the next page, you can view the activity that has already been turned off. You can also turn off all future activities by turning off the switch next to Future Off-Facebook Activity.
  • You can also remove your entire off-Facebook activity history. Return to the main Off-Facebook Activity page. Click the Clear History button at the top and then select Clear History.

4. Privacy Feature

  • To run the latest version of Facebook’s Privacy Checkup tool, click the down arrow icon in the upper right, go to Settings & Privacy, and select Privacy Checkup. At the Privacy Checkup window, click the first topic for Who can see what you share.
  • Click Continue. At the Profile Information window, review the settings for your phone number, email addresses, and birthday. Click the button next to each one, and choose whether to change it to Public, Friends, Only Me, or a specific Facebook list. You probably want this information to remain private or only visible to friends or a specific group. When done, click Next.
  • At the Posts window, set the option for who should see future posts. You’ll likely want to set this to Friends. The Limit Past Posts option changes past posts that were seen by the public or friends of friends to only friends. To do this, click the Limit button and click OK. Then click Next.
  • At the Block screen, you can block specific people from seeing things you post, starting conversations with you, or trying to add you as a friend. To do this, click Add to Blocked list and type the name of the person or account you wish to block. From the list of suggestions, click the Block button for the correct person, then click Next.
  • This is the other way by which you can stop Facebook from knowing about your data.

Conclusion

So, this is all about how you can stop Facebook from knowing about you and your data. We’ve discussed two features that help us to save our data. We hope this article is informative for you. In case you have any queries, please let us know in the comments section.

- Advertisement -
Categories:

Popular

- Advertisement -



Latest

Related articles

Gmail Offline: How To Send Email Without Internet

1
Google has made emailing experience on Gmail better with its interesting new features. There are...
Halo Infinite co-op beta

How To Play Halo Infinite Co-op Beta Right Now!

0
In this guide, we have explained how to sign up for the Halo Infinite co-op...
overwatch 2 beta

How To Sign Up For The Overwatch 2 Beta

0
Everyone knows that Overwatch 2 beta going to be released soon, and everyone is aware...
encrypt Files On Mac

Encrypt Files On Mac- Know How

0
It is beneficial to learn how to Encrypt Files on Mac. By adding an additional...
Overwatch 2 beta

How To Get Overwatch 2 Beta Right Now

0
In this article we have explained how can you get your hands on the most...
- Advertisement -

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.